AFPD Accreditation Logo
Arvada Fire Protection District is one of  just over 230 accredited fire and emergency services agencies in the world.

The qualifications set by the Commission on Fire Accreditation International (CFAI) require us to take a close look at our performance record and service levels, with an eye toward improvement, comparing our resources and response to the fire industry's best practices.

Through the process, we're able to keep on top of new operating and training techniques and standards to keep you and your family safe.

Agencies become accredited after peer review of their accreditation documents, completion of an onsite assessment, and participation in a public hearing before the Commission on Fire Accreditation International. Accreditation is valid for five years.

Accredited agencies are often described as being community-focused, data-driven, outcome-focused, strategic-minded, well organized, properly equipped, and properly staffed and trained.

Part of the reason for this is the holistic scope of the CFAI model.  It includes ten categories that cover the span of fire and emergency service operations: 

1. Governance and Administration
2. Assessment and Planning
3. Goals and Objectives
4. Financial Resources
5. Programs
6. Physical Resources
7. Human Resources
8. Training and Competency
9. Essential Resources
10. External Systems Relationship 

Category 5 (Programs) covers the whole gamut: 

  • Community Risk Reduction
  • Public Education
  • Fire Investigations
  • Domestic Preparedness
  • Fire Suppression
  • EMS; Technical Rescue
  • Hazmat
  • Aviation Rescue and Firefighting
  • Marine and Shipboard Rescue and Firefighting
  • Wildland Firefighting
Standard of Cover Risk Assessment
Strategic Plan